I love farmers’ markets, especially in the summer.  I love walking around, seeing the people, hearing the sounds, taking in the sights, and enjoying the sun; not to mention, the taste tests!!!  Who doesn’t love samples!?  Farmers’ markets are a great way of knowing where your food is coming from, because the farmers are right there bringing you their produce directly.  It’s also a great way of knowing and buying what’s in season.

In addition to the apples, peaches, basil, cilantro, parsley, lemon, and avocados I bought at the farmer’s market the other day, I also found these beauties…

passion fruit

PASSION FRUIT!  I was inspired to get a few because they took me back, back to Bali, Bali ;) AND when I had that layover in Taiwan, I had a yummy passion fruit smoothie.  So, of course, I had to create my very own smoothie using this lovely fruit!

passion fruit smoothie

Recipe:

1 1/2 cups almond milk
handful of blueberries
1 passion fruit
handful of spinach (got my greens in there, too)
2 small pieces of avocado
1 tsp of plain greek yogurt
1 tsp of rosella powder (for all the Mexicans out there, that’s jamaica)
1 tsp of raw cacao powder
1 tsp of coconut sugar

Ok, I understand how this sounds really weird… I was even afraid to try it myself.  I’m like a mad scientist in my kitchen, throwing whatever I find (or at least what sounds good) into my NutriBullet.  BUT this was sooooo good!  It’s definitely a great summer treat.  You don’t even have to try my recipe…

Here’s the fun homework: find your closest farmers’ market, make a day of it, have some fun… buy a fruit you’ve never tried and make up your own smoothie or recipe!

P.S. In case you’re wondering here are just some of the health benefits of passion fruit:

  • Antioxidant power
  • Fiber and protein content (about 24.5g and 5g, respectively, when you include the seeds -which are edible)
  • Rich in vitamins A & C
  • Great source of iron, magnesium, potassium

Hope you’re lovin’ your summer as much as I am…
xoxo

