I eat a lot of raw foods.  Especially when I’m cleansing. And if you know me, I’m always on some detox or cleanse. For one, I like to be my own guinea pig; and two, I’m continually learning what foods best fuel my body.  I love sticking to foods that make me feel my best.  My regular diet consists of a lot of salads; usually I make my own dressings with ingredients like tahini, lemon, balsamic vinegar, sunflower or olive oil, apple cider vinegar (not exactly all mixed together, that might not be good). The past few weeks have been extremely busy and rather than making my own dressing…Annie’s brand organic salad dressing to the rescue! Actually, a great friend of mine turned me on to it (thank you, Celeste!); I checked out the ingredients, and loved it = a new option for days when I’m crunched for time. I’ve tried two so far, Goddess and Sesame Ginger, and both are DELISH! Check out my salad below with Annie’s Organic Goddess dressing…with a name like “Goddess” you can’t help but feel all kinds of good eating this stuff!

annies salad dressingSalads make for an easy and refreshing summer meal.  I like to chop up a bunch of veggies and toss them in a bowl with my dressing…not your average lettuce salad (regular lettuce doesn’t have much nutrient value, it’s mostly water – opt for the darker greens and throw in some color with other veggies!).

Ingredients for the salad above:
1 chopped carrot
a handful of sugar snap peas
2 cups of spinach
1 portabello mushroom
handful of grape tomatoes
1/2 yellow bell pepper
1/2 a head of broccoli
2 tablespoons of Annie’s Goddess dressing
Summer tip – add some fun and flavor with chopped pear, apple, or some berries!

For added nutritional value you can add:
1 tbsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp spirulina
1 tsp ground flax seed

Not only is it super easy to put together… it’s light, refreshing, and packed with nutrients.  That bathing suit and summer tummy will thank you!

What are some of your favorite salad recipes?  Share in the comments below.

Have a happy and healthy summer!!!!!!
xoxo!

