celluliteAnd stretch marks.  Like Katt Williams says, I’m a tiger.  I’ve spent a lot of my life focused on the parts of me I didn’t like.  Oh heck let’s be real, I’ve spent a lot of my life thinking that my curves, thigh dimples, and muffin top made me unattractive, not good enough, unworthy of love.  And because that’s what I believed, that is what I received.  I manifested relationships where I was taken advantage of, cheated on, and even left for a married woman.  Those experiences only reinforced the idea that I wasn’t good enough.  I compared myself to the “other woman” on several occasions.  I looked at pictures, trying to find what they had that  I didn’t.  In my last relationship, my ex met a “friend” at the gym, and because she was married I thought nothing of it; until, they started spending more time together.  Shortly after he ended the relationship, they were dating.  She worked out as much as he did, and apparently was in really good shape.  So, like any woman would, I started physically comparing myself to her.  I wondered how a married woman could be more appealing.  It made me angry, and I had so many unanswered questions.

Through a process of hypnotherapy & meditation, self-help, and self-discovery I slowly gained focus of what really matters…and lemme tell ya it’s not my stretch marks.  I reconnected with myself.  I understood that I wasn’t a victim.  My thoughts, and as a result, my actions led to where I found myself.  I didn’t think I was good enough, attractive enough, or that someone could love me.  My experiences were only a reflection of my inner world.

Things are different now.  I’ve learned to have a love for myself that I did not have before.  I value myself.  I know being a certain size doesn’t up my worth.  I work out almost every day because it makes me feel good, and I actually enjoy it.  I take care of myself, I eat well, and I treat my body well because I love myself.  But it is no longer an obsessive feeling or thought of having to look a certain way.  When I look at myself in the mirror I focus on the things I love about myself.  This doesn’t mean I don’t falter at times or beat myself up, it just means I pick myself up and forgive myself.  It means being more loving and accepting of myself, just as I am.  I am completely ok accepting that I have cellulite and stretch marks and sharing it with you.  We are all beautiful in whatever form, shape, color, size we come.

It’s time to stop focusing on what we don’t like, because that’s just what we’re going to keep getting.  So here’s some homework for you.  Look at yourself in the mirror, and point out all the wonderful things about you.  Do it every morning and/or night.  We are all works in progress, but life becomes so much more beautiful when we accept ourselves as we are in this moment….cellulite and all…and when we start focusing on those parts of us we truly love.

Show yourself some love today.  What do you love about yourself?

xoxo
nv

