Time for breakfast!  Oh, no time?  At all?  Really?  I mean, breakfast IS the most important meal of the day, ya know?  How annoying is it to hear … read… that?  Well the reason it’s so annoying is because it’s true, and we don’t always do what’s best for us; so, of course, it’s annoying to be reminded of that thing that’s good for us, that we should be doing, but we’re not.  Oooooh you must really not like me right about now…but that’s ok because when you’re over pouting and stomping your feet (that’s OK, I have tantrums, too) I’ll still be here to love you up (yes, even if that means telling you the truth you don’t want to hear…read).  What’s the big deal about breakfast anyway!?

1.  Your brain and central nervous system run on glucose.  Say you got your 8 hours of sleep, but skipped breakfast, and didn’t eat (coffee doesn’t count!) for another 4 hours!!  You are running on empty!  How are you functioning at work, at school, or remembering to do everything you had to do?  Your body and brain need that fuel.  It will improve your productivity, and concentration.  Basically, without breakfast, you can’t reall shine, and lack of shine is fatal…seriously.

2.  If you want to get rid of excess weight you may want to start with breakfast.  When you don’t eat for an extended amount of time, your body goes into starvation mode, after which food will be stored as fat (a process that was necessary waaaaaaay back in the day when humans didn’t know when they were going to find food again, which I have a feeling is not a problem for many of us these days).  When you don’t take in enough calories at breakfast, you’re also more likely to eat more later in the day.

3.  If you feel sluggish in the morning, eating the right breakfast can give you the energy you need.  Without food first thing in the morning, you’re running on empty.  You wouldn’t get very far in your car when that gas needle hits the E, right?  As I mentioned earlier, coffee doesn’t count; coffee gives you a false sense of alertness and energy, why not get the real deal?

There are many more benefits to eating breakfast, but I was told my posts were too long so onto the good stuff.  What to eat for breakfast?  Not having enough time is not an excuse, by the way!  It can be as simple as some oatmeal with berries and cinnamon, whole wheat toast with some fruit, greek yogurt with berries and nuts; or if you have a lil more time, maybe a veggie omelette.  If you’re really pressed for time you’ll like what I have as my second breakfast: liquid nutrition in a cup!  Yup, a smoothie!  This is one of my favorite breakfasts, snacks, dinners… I just love me a good smoothie!  The one I made today:

smoothie1 Fuji apple
1 1/2 cups of coco water
2-3 leaves of kale
handful of cilantro
a few slices of cucumber
a thin slice of ginger
handful of pinenuts and pistachios (for my healthy fats)
a few ice cubes

I don’t have a fancy blender, like the Vitamix or Blendtec so don’t think you have to go buy all these appliances to make healthier choices.  I just leave the blender on for a little bit longer so everything is smoothed out nicely, get it, smoothie?  smoothed out?  ha.  You don’t have to try my recipe, I get a lil crazy with it.  I mean, I throw in whatever I have and blend it up.  Have some fun with it, make up your own, I’d love to see what recipes you come up with!  You can post below ;) If you’re still thinking you don’t have time, you can even make it at night and leave it in a to-go cup ready to take when you’re rushing out the next morning.

One last tip:  try to add some greens (kale, spinach, collard, etc), rather than making it all fruit – yea it’s fruit, but still a lot of sugar.

Alright, alright…I’m done.  Really, I’m working on making these shorter… it’s a work in progress ;)

Have an awesome and healthy day!

xoxo

 

