Raise your hand if you like to psych yourself out.  You know, make up excuses and reasons for not doing something that’s good for you, or telling yourself how difficult it is.  Uh huh, yea, let’s be honest here.  Sure, it’s easier to keep doing what you’re doing.  BUT if you’re expecting different results (say, weight loss, for example), that, my friend, is the definition of insanity.  We do this a lot when it comes to eating healthier.  How many excuses have you had for NOT making the changes you know would benefit you?  “It takes too much preparation.”  “I don’t have enough time.”  “It’s too expensive.”  “I can’t do it.”  “But vegetables are gross!” “I’ll start on Monday.”  We always want to start on a Monday, what’s that all about?  Why not now?  Why not today?

There are many misconceptions about making healthier choices: it’s too difficult, healthy doesn’t taste good, the list goes on.  Again, we psych ourselves out; but, really, it’s self-sabotage.  Maybe because we’re afraid of change, or because, deep down, we don’t believe we deserve better.  Stepping out of our comfort zones takes courage, but, the reality is, that it all comes down to baby steps.  Weight loss, and a healthier lifestyle don’t have to be about eating lettuce all day, or NEVER having dessert again.  Finally, the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel!!  Yes, you don’t have to excommunicate dessert.  If you really want to make lasting, sustainable changes, they have to be realistic and enjoyable.  Weight loss and being healthier is not about torture.  So, here’s the tough love:  let’s get real, stop being scared, and get on a path to a healthier, happier you.   Not on the 1st of the month, not on Monday, TODAY!

I’m sure the next question is, “But where do I start?”  Start small :)  If you’re getting into a mid-day slump and want to reach for that caffeine- and sugar-filled soda or latte, go for an anti-inflammatory and antioxidant-filled green tea instead.  Keep your snacks simple, too, so that you don’t overwhelm yourself.  One of my favorite snacks is half of an avocado, sprinkled with sea salt.  I cut it open, and eat it right out of the peel.  Avocados, aside from being the healthy kind of fat (monounsaturated), are also a great source of vitamins A, B, E and K, as well as minerals, such as potassium, iron, and zinc.  I can go on about avocados, if you haven’t figured it out yet, I LOVE them!  Alright, done with that…. Anyway, check out the pic below, that is another one of my favorite snacks, and it’s super easy, and filling!  Here’s the really basic recipe:

1 Sprouted grain English muffin (Ezekiel brand)
Tomato
Basil leaves
Baby spinach
Avocado
Vegan cheese (pepperjack-style shreds -Daiya brand)
Sea salt
Black pepper

I toast the English muffin, then sprinkle the cheese on top.  I like the cheese melted, so I put the muffin with the cheese in the toaster oven for a bit.  I slice up the avocado and layer it on top, followed by slices of tomato, shredded basil leaves, and baby spinach.  I top it off by sprinkling some sea salt and black pepper.  Aside from not taking much preparation and being super yummy, I love this snack because I get my healthy fats, veggies, protein, fiber, and carbs.

photo-2

I don’t like to complicate my life, and I’m sure you don’t either.  So, don’t.  Keep it simple.  You’d be surprised how easy it is when you make small changes that you can stick to.  What healthy, small changes can you make today?

I believe in you :)

XOXO

