Have you ever heard of the raw food movement or of raw foodists?  Well, here’s a quick overview:  A raw foodist doesn’t eat anything cooked; the raw food diet consists of raw fruits, vegetables, nuts, seeds, and anything unprocessed and uncooked.  This means microwaves and stoves are obsolete in a raw foodist’s life; instead some may use a dehydrator (which removes moisture from food at a very low temperature, think dried fruit).  Raw foodists believe that cooked food is devoid of vital nutrients, enzymes, vitamins, and minerals.  Furthermore, they also hold that cooked foods are responsible for problems related to indigestion, illness, chronic diseases, and many similar issues.*

After a health scare I had almost 2 years ago, I became vegan and ate raw and organic for 6 months (this is a story for another time).  As nerdy as it sounds, I got really excited about the possibility of creating awesome vegan and raw recipes; so I got a dehydrator (there are many out there but I got this Nesco brand one).  I have had lots of fun making dried fruit, wraps, falafel, kale chips, and lots of other stuff.  Last year, a friend of mine, Bernard, turned me on to the FoodPantrie non-electric dehydrator, which he has.  I bought it, but this whole time it’s been sitting in the box, tucked away.  Yesterday, I decided it was time put it to good use.

I was making a few juices and, inspired by Bernard, I kept the pulp from juicing and decided to make some cookies in my new, non-electric dehydrator.  My FoodPantrie has been hanging in my backyard since yesterday, and I really didn’t know what to expect in terms of how my cookies would taste because I totally made up the recipe.  A few minutes ago I went to check on them and was tempted to try one, even though they’re not done yet…and OH MY!  I deserve a cookie (haha)…I HAVE to pat myself on my back, give myself a gold star, or smiley face sticker.  DELICIOUS!!  They are still moist, but they are sooooooo tasty!  Now I’m not saying you should run out and get a dehydrator and start making stuff (unless of course, you really want to)…but I will say it is definitely fun!  The only thing to be conscious of is that dehydrating in an electric dehydrator takes at least 12 hours depending on what you’re dehydrating; in a non-electric one it will probably take a few days.  For me, it’s totally fine because I’m in no rush.  Not to mention, it’s pretty cool because you can leave it and not worry about the food burning or setting the whole house on fire ;)  Alright, now here’s my scrumptious recipe!

  • The pulp of: 4 bulbs of fennel, 2 green apples, 1 lemon
  • 1 cup of blueberries
  • 1 1/2 cups of pecans
  • 1 tablespoon of agave
  • 2 tablespoons of coconut oil
  • Cinnamon

Process:  I took the pulp and put it in my food processor, then added the agave and coconut oil and blended for a few seconds.  Then, I added the blueberries and pecans and pressed the “pulse” button on the food processor (I wanted some blueberry and pecan chunks to be left, not fully blending them in).  If the blending becomes difficult because of all the solids you can add a little more coconut oil, or even water just to get it moving.  I then started placing my cookie “dough” (LOL) in little circles on my trays. I topped them off with a pinch of cinnamon.  I expect them to be fully dehydrated tomorrow or Friday.  (In an electric dehydrator it might take about 12 hours, outside with a non-electric one I’m expecting it to take 3 days).**

The cool thing about these cookies is that they are all natural, nothing processed.  Also, the added cinnamon stabilizes blood sugar; and the fiber in the cookies slows the absorption of the sugar from the fruit and agave.  Don’t take that as an excuse to make these and eat them ALL the time, but they are a healthier alternative to other cookies.

Enjoy! xoxo

*Please note, the raw food diet is not for everyone.  Do your research if it interests you to follow such a diet.  Consult with a professional before starting any diet program.

**If you do not have any of the appliances needed for this recipe you can always improvise.  A blender may not work the same as a food processor, but it’s a good substitute sometimes.  If you don’t have a dehydrator you can set the stove to a very low temperature (and I mean very low) and do it that way.