Ok, so this may sound weird because it’s still summer (not to mention, I’m in Palm Springs as I write this), but today I realized that I find warm/hot water really refreshing.  Since I like to be my own guinea pig, a while back I started to make a habit out of drinking hot water with lemon (usually in the morning, but also whenever possible), after I read about all of its health benefits.  Recently, I was just re-filling my bottle without really thinking about the water’s temperature.  For some reason, today I decided to go halfers on the cold and hot water in my bottle.  As I drank the warm water I felt oddly refreshed, and like I had been missing it.  This feeling totally made sense considering that warm water is more easily absorbed, and, therefore, more hydrating.  I could tell I was dehydrated and I started chugging the warm water, and re-filling…chugging, and re-filling.  So here’s a thought, would you like to try drinking warm water?  At first, you may not really like it; but give it a try for a few days…maybe even a week or two and notice if you feel a difference.  If you need to, add a lil lemon, or mint.  Maybe reading some of the health benefits will convince you to give it a try:

Drinking warm/hot water…

  • Is more hydrating, as it is more easily absorbed
  • Helps cleanse the digestive tract and encourages detoxification
  • Improves digestion and assimilation of food

*Adding lemon to your warm/hot water has additional health benefits, like…

  • Lemon has an alkalizing effect on the body
  • Easing heartburn, bloating, and other digestive problems
  • Helping your liver flush out toxins
  • Lemon is also high in vitamin C, which is a great immune booster

So, bring on the hot, refreshing water!!! ;)

xoxo

nv

